If you can afford it, please consider a donation to my websites.......click to read more
Click here to join lightningring
Click to join lightningring




Lightning Related Links

LightningRing TopSite

  • This site is open for all lightning related webpages (click the "Join" link on the bar below). Click "FAQ" link for more information.

The Isle of Wight Weather Station Network


The Isle of Wight Weather Station Network

Info


Username: iww
Description: The Isle of Wight Weather Station Network brings you the leading South of England live lightning detection network, APT satellite images, live and historical data, climate, trends, WxSim forecasts, UK TSentry thunderstorm alert list, and SparkCLX.
URL: http://www.isleofwightweather.co.uk/live_storm_data.htm
Category: United_Kingdom
Member Since: 2008-04-30

Average Rating: 4 / 5
Number of Ratings: 1,716
4/5

Reviews


2014-11-04 01:56:09
Good regular service

2014-10-29 00:43:39
1

2014-10-28 04:10:47
Excellent site with lots of information.

2014-10-25 00:03:22
one of the best sitea around

2014-10-24 04:12:24
Essential service for the Isle of Wight in so many ways. Enabling an accurate forecast because mainland weather is not always the same as weather on the Island. Well laid out and easy to understand my world would be less manageable without Isle of Wight Weather forecasts. Thank you.

2014-10-13 09:40:40
The best weather site in the south of england

2014-10-11 07:30:43
Excellent site

2014-10-08 23:33:47
Great service

2014-10-08 01:20:57
Very informative

2014-10-07 10:13:34
My no1 lightning site

2014-10-07 06:05:35
Always good and accurate..well done

2014-10-07 01:20:46
This must be one of the best stations about ! I 'plan' my day on this site. It is invaluable to myself and staff.
Well done and keep up the excellent service. Cameron Lamb. IOW

2014-09-20 12:54:22
Awesome site...warning status messages number 1

2014-09-20 03:48:01
Love this app

2014-09-13 00:01:15
great service

2014-09-08 03:35:33
Excellent and reliable - being an Island we cannot always get an accurate forecast from mainland reports so this service is vital to us. Thank you. Mary

2014-08-17 02:00:17
good service

2014-08-08 13:35:29
Excellent and reliable. It would be a dreadful shame if The Isle of Wight Weather Station Network was closed. As an Islander with many Island interests an up to date weather forecast is essential rather than a mainland UK one that is often not relevant.

2014-08-08 02:22:33
Very comprehensive page.

2014-07-29 00:13:51
An excellent site. So nice to wake up to a written description of what happened yesterday and what is expected today.

2014-07-28 09:27:06
Excellent service, very detailed.

2014-07-25 07:13:46
Thanks for a great service it helps me as my wife is epileptic and reacts very much to thunderstorms your service has been a great help as it gives me time to make sure that she is ready before the storm hits our area.
Thanks for a great service
Ken Wheeler


2014-07-23 23:34:42
Excellent service. Always correct and reliable.

2014-07-22 00:26:41
Reliable and accurate weather.

2014-07-19 00:35:55
Good clear forecasts, pretty much spot on, good stats too

2014-06-26 06:53:55
This site is really great ,and very interesting to be able to see all current thunderstorm activity is really good .

2014-06-26 05:58:24
Brilliant, really useful information.

2014-06-25 02:36:03
Great live information and fascinating to watch when a storm approaches.

2014-06-25 01:10:17
Brilliant

2014-06-14 00:34:23
DONT MISS A DAY

2014-06-13 14:15:06
Keeps me up to date. Excellent

2014-06-13 12:56:36
Very informative and accurately updated. One of sites I Have used.

2014-06-09 03:41:05
Great site and extremely informative. Love it. For wxgeeks, it's a must!

2014-06-09 01:44:17
Fantastic website I use most days

2014-06-09 00:03:02
Amazing up to date and accurate service. This service is the only one I seriously trust! X

2014-06-07 00:15:09
Works very well

2014-05-22 11:16:08
Excellent. Remarkably accurate. Jolly good show when all said and done.
Keep up the good work, chaps !
RF - West Dorset.

2014-05-10 00:07:56
Very useful!

2014-04-20 02:44:36
Great

2014-04-07 03:55:59
Isle of Wight Weather. Truly useful and fascinating service.

2014-03-29 07:03:33
i like it... i use it for own purpose regulary.. will be grate to see more location :D .. and alos mounthly update will be nice to have once per mounth.. minim and max ...

have nice day

2014-03-28 22:22:02
Very useful service

2014-03-28 13:13:38
Love it, rely on it more accurate than the met
Office. And I live 35m NE :-)

2014-03-27 18:21:36
First class

2014-03-05 01:55:20
Very helpful and accurate.

2014-02-09 00:16:30
Fantastic!

2014-02-08 01:20:05
I find the site very useful and easy to use, I check it regularly and find the live weather page particularly interesting.

2014-02-06 02:23:18
This site has improved year on year. I have been watching since it started up. It is easily the best one I have seen and reflects the hard work out into it over the years. Well done.

2014-01-23 02:12:49
.

2014-01-06 23:40:41
excellent service

2014-01-02 02:24:31
Very useful site for anyone holidaying or living on IOW.

2013-12-29 02:52:46
Great site and very informative for an amateur meteorologist.

2013-12-23 04:50:22
Excellent, well done.

2013-12-23 01:47:36
GREAT SITE KEEP IT UP.

2013-12-21 20:58:28
Excellent accurate information keeping me informed on a daily basis.

2013-12-15 00:56:48
Very good and accurate

2013-11-16 05:45:17
Very helpful

2013-11-16 02:25:19
Excellent and informative.

2013-11-13 10:12:32
fantastic local forecast on my screen when I need it

2013-11-06 01:40:20
Only occasionally wrong, considering the volatile coastal weather, service is good.

2013-10-31 01:18:17
great service very informative

2013-10-29 01:09:55
Brilliant info for landlubers and sailors alike!

2013-10-24 02:52:38
Excellent forecasts and information for the Isle of Wight weather, thanks

2013-10-23 01:21:33
Excellent service: long may it continue.

2013-10-20 03:04:28
ver good network would be lost without it

2013-10-18 23:34:46
Brilliant site.

2013-09-15 00:18:58
this site is consistently excellent

2013-09-14 00:06:55
It's great!

2013-09-13 23:40:49
very clear information, easy to follow, well done

2013-08-05 01:45:37
Excellent, Always good to know of approaching
Storms so I can disconnect my Ham Radio antennas


2013-08-03 07:41:57
Very very good

2013-08-03 04:01:56
Brilliant information

2013-08-03 00:36:26
Excellent information

2013-07-27 08:43:18
i cant beleive how far out the storm predition was...... ive warned so many friends about todays strikes and ... toally nothing....as you could gather im not popular at the moment...... :( this morning one showed coming into south east england...... i work outside so rushing to get things done...... and guess what.... nothing happened !!!!!

2013-07-23 06:45:18
Its Fab, thanks!

2013-07-23 06:41:21
A great site providing alerts when a storm approaches

2013-07-23 06:39:33
Very use full.

2013-07-23 01:41:16
very good and interesting tool

2013-07-22 08:38:14
Excellent site

2013-07-22 00:30:55
Very good service, keeps you up to date, thanks.


2013-07-21 22:53:46
Very useful, brilliant.

2013-07-21 04:00:00
Excellent information and alerts.

2013-07-21 03:15:58
My number 1 site for lightning info.

2013-07-20 00:21:51
Reliable, accurate, helpful with any queries

2013-07-17 12:10:07
Great site

2013-06-20 00:38:56
One of the best sites for local and UK weather.

2013-06-19 12:10:02
Excellent live data

2013-06-15 01:04:46
I love this detailed weather report of IOW esp the highs and lows. It covers all aspects and gives a clear understanding of what is happening weatherwise. Keep up the good work!

2013-06-09 00:00:14
super service , accurate and prompt. Invaluable guide each day.

2013-06-08 12:14:38
Excellent service ,accurate every time

2013-06-08 10:26:36
The Best

2013-05-07 09:50:49
Brilliant

2013-04-12 13:31:43
Fast and backed up by email

2013-04-12 11:08:05
Fast and backed up by email

2013-04-12 10:27:31
Fantastic site

2013-03-10 11:33:16
Top site.

2013-02-24 02:05:29
A weekly hours of sunshine report would be useful to see how that compares with solar panel output.
Excellent website


2013-02-24 01:42:00
Excellent informative

2013-01-31 01:37:24
Accurate, easy to understand
Brilliant service

2013-01-30 01:50:33
The tops, well done, if only the met office was this good.

2013-01-30 01:05:08
Briliant

2013-01-19 02:27:10
A very good and professional service

2013-01-19 02:15:21
Excellent daily service plus weather warnings. The first thing I look at
Morning and evening

2013-01-17 06:10:52
invaluable information provided every day. Easy to understand and follow trends.

2013-01-17 04:01:26
Excellent service

2013-01-11 03:29:28
An excellent service for our small island.Very good information by e mail and a very accurate forecast.


2013-01-02 12:34:09
So ecxietd I found this article as it made things much quicker!

2013-01-02 02:48:15
good service, thank you...

2012-12-18 06:37:00
very good

2012-11-23 01:20:30
A good and reliable service, keep up the good work.

2012-11-22 13:38:34
Excellent!! H Hughes/G0ECJ

2012-11-22 04:19:01
Excellent informative site. As a gardener it is essential and I would hate to be without the Isle of Wight weather people. Well done and thank you. Mary

2012-11-10 11:00:34
first class service

2012-11-04 23:03:23
Great site!

2012-10-28 00:41:22
Ist class service.
Very informative

2012-10-27 03:45:23
excellent service on time.

2012-10-27 00:46:13
The best I can find on the net. So helpful as I have animals that hate storms so the early warnings are a god send. Thank you x

2012-10-24 00:17:27
good site keep up the good work

2012-09-23 04:24:52
The Isle of Wight Weather Station Nework always keeps me informed with timely weather warnings. A great web site for tracking thunderstorm activity.

2012-09-23 03:42:40
Excellent service,many thanks!!!

2012-09-21 00:58:04
very informative and accurate

2012-09-20 02:44:32
Great detail
thank you

2012-09-10 00:04:15
Great service!

2012-08-30 00:02:00
Useful daily report.

2012-08-28 15:40:05
Isle of Wight Weather

2012-08-19 04:25:52
Great

2012-08-15 06:28:54
As far as I'm concerned the service this site provides couldn't be beat.

2012-08-15 02:09:49
of great interest and help.

2012-08-07 02:03:29
Very informative.

2012-08-05 11:42:05
Always a good report

2012-08-05 02:35:32
Super free service that I have been subscribed to for the past 5 years. Well done to all

2012-07-29 05:29:13
brill site .

2012-07-21 00:39:21
Very reliable source of info

2012-07-14 00:49:27
a five star service.

2012-07-13 11:01:20
very reliable service

2012-07-11 13:22:36
I have for years been an old hand in meteorology but what you chaps do out there is incredible as they say forwarned is forarmed, keep up the good work.

2012-06-15 17:18:51
This station missing a lot of strikes and gets the distance hopelessly wrong. Website is a mess and doesn't work correctly on mobile phone.

2012-06-14 00:46:53
Excellent information given an, of course, very accurate

2012-06-04 10:50:53
Great weather station, always spot on,i look at the forcast every day.

2012-06-02 22:39:42
Just brilliant

2012-05-30 06:30:24
this site is very interesting and helpful
thankyou

2012-05-28 09:23:15
I love it, it's brilliant for my laptop. I wish there was an iPhone app and android though so I could storm chase with live data!!!!

2012-05-26 09:23:27
Brilliant

2012-05-26 04:43:18
Very good and very accurate

2012-05-26 01:35:00
A very good service for me as a gardener. I know when to get tender plants under cover during the Spring especially.

2012-05-20 11:11:14
the isle of wight weather station is very usefull i use it every day great emails everyday always gets the weather right.

2012-05-20 10:33:31
First class service. Thanks

2012-05-16 00:06:53
Got to be the best

2012-05-07 01:34:52
superb service

2012-05-02 14:30:40
I love this site

2012-04-30 13:20:18
Excellent site and data

2012-04-29 01:46:22
very good

2012-04-26 17:19:50
Lightning data and forecast is very inaccurate and misses a lot of lightning strikes. A lot of broken parts on website such as missing images and out of date data.

2012-04-18 06:29:02
Top site

2012-04-14 04:25:27
The equipment seems to miss a lot of lightning strikes compared to others. There are several images missing on the lightning page and no lightning forecast. Also the weather forecast is often wrong.

2012-04-14 02:27:11
it is the best service and it keep me up to date. thank you

2012-04-13 08:48:51
A very valuable service for the professional as well as the amateur meteorologist. Keep up the the good work.

2012-04-12 02:44:24
very good service

2012-04-11 07:00:01
Very useful site. Been using a while.

2012-04-11 03:27:20
Totally necessary service, not a luxury but absolutely needed especially by gardeners like myself. Well done Isle of Wight Weather and thank you.

2012-04-03 16:06:25
First class service.

2012-04-03 13:44:11
Great service, been signed up for a couple of years now

2012-04-03 12:45:43
An excellent website with great info.

2012-04-01 02:41:39
excellent service!

2012-03-21 10:55:47
AS GOOD AS IT GETS

2012-02-17 14:26:02
Excellent service just need more storms!!!

2012-02-14 01:05:13
Excellent

2012-01-31 04:23:07
Excellent service!!!

2012-01-25 03:29:33
Excellent daily forecast - easily understood and locality specific

2012-01-20 05:26:52
excellent :- IENGLAND202

2012-01-14 01:50:23
Very efficient and accurate service supplied

2012-01-10 02:00:05
Amazing service. The only web page I look at every day.

2011-12-22 02:33:18
This is an excellent site as 'laymen/women' can easily read the information and understand them as they are written in simple understandable language. Well done to all those involved.

2011-12-14 05:54:09
Very good service

2011-11-28 04:39:40
Excellent fully rounded forecasts. As a gardener I rely totally on the Isle of Wight Weather Forecasts and would be lost without them. Many thanks, Mary Watson

2011-11-10 02:17:39
Excellent informative service - I look forward to my daily bulletins. Its a must have!

2011-11-03 08:15:25
The alert system is just fantastic.

2011-11-03 07:40:45
fantastic

2011-10-31 02:06:53
very informative and accurate

2011-10-03 00:23:31
Excellent and detailed, accurate also

2011-10-02 00:35:52
GREAT SITE. REALLY USEFUL

2011-09-28 04:28:56
Essential Service for the Isle of Wight. As a keen gardener I would be lost without our individual weather forecast as quite often the mainland forget we exist in the English Channel. Well done and thank you. Mary Watson

2011-09-27 03:17:15
excellent site

2011-09-18 15:56:58
great stuff

2011-09-12 00:00:34
Excellent service use it all the time

2011-09-10 00:33:22
I enjoy reading the weather forecast which is often very accurate.

2011-09-08 00:29:52
Most useful and interesting

2011-09-05 10:50:01
great

2011-09-03 13:13:52
A GRAET STATION

2011-08-30 02:03:59
A very comprehensive and consistent report
I can see the work that has gone into it

from krac at Blackpool2
lakesidefisheries.net

2011-08-22 14:52:19
Excellent upto date service.

2011-08-22 13:32:58
Excellent

2011-08-19 03:45:30
excellent

2011-08-12 03:12:48
Excellent Weather site!

lighty

2011-08-04 12:10:12
awesome

2011-08-03 08:41:29
Excellent, well organised site, providing and accurate and valuable service with an availability of additional data analysis when required.

2011-08-03 07:47:08
Fantastic Service and accurate.

2011-07-30 06:52:27
My garden needs the Isle of Wight Weather Forecast, it is absolutely imperative. Excellent service, absolutely no complaints. Mary Watson

2011-07-28 01:01:55
Great idea esp for youngsters to develop an interest, and with all the sailing and boating interests on the sea-girt isle ...

2011-07-25 01:28:40
Great interactive site.
well done!

2011-07-18 04:51:29
Precisely what is needed. Accurate and comprehensive information presented logically.

2011-07-13 03:01:28
a worthy service which deserves a mention

2011-07-08 11:59:36
excellent service cannot fault it

2011-07-08 11:20:13
first class service and information

2011-07-07 00:01:54
Just brilliant!

2011-07-01 01:46:00
useful

2011-06-30 03:57:13
Very interesting site

2011-06-29 10:47:52
very informative and user friendly, even for the complete novice

2011-06-28 15:12:03
Great site, very informative.

2011-06-27 03:45:03
A brilliant and most accurate website.
I would be lost without it!

2011-06-22 00:41:58
Very useful

2011-06-19 00:16:35
Fantastic to have this information online and so easily accessible.

2011-06-12 14:46:15
Thanks for a superb service

2011-06-10 13:31:20
Great weather station reliable le and accurate

2011-06-10 13:24:45
Very useful service!

2011-06-05 14:50:06
awesome

2011-05-26 12:48:38
fantastic information, speedy alerts!!

2011-05-22 00:21:08
Predictions mostly correct.

2011-05-14 02:45:36
The best yet. keep the good work up.
Nevil.

2011-05-09 11:39:08
Excellent service

2011-05-09 08:51:00
Warning just too late. A distant strike took out my BT Voyager router before I could
disconnect everything. Fortunately, I had an old ZOOM in the junkbox...

2011-05-07 09:50:37
Top service and right on the button for reliability.

2011-05-07 03:38:12
Excellent

2011-05-07 01:45:20
First class excellent service all you need to know

2011-05-07 00:45:26
IoW Weather gets it right most of the time.

2011-05-03 10:50:45
great site been using it for some time "brilliant"

2011-05-01 04:23:35
Excellent

2011-04-30 07:21:09
verry reliable

2011-04-29 07:36:47
Great site! Statistical and informative!

2011-04-29 06:57:48
best website i have ever known for thunderstorm data! keep going :)

2011-04-10 00:34:50
A very useful resource in both planning and education. Reliable and comprehensive.

2011-03-27 11:37:21
Excellent reliable service and absolutely essential to me as I am a gardener. Well done The Isle of Wight Weather Station Network and thank you. M. Watson

2011-03-26 03:36:41
Thie a very good Weather station for local Weather. Keep the good work up. Nevil from the Isle of Wight. neviliven@hotmal.co.uk

2011-03-24 00:22:38
great info always on time with alerts etc

2011-03-23 01:56:30
excellent

2011-03-23 00:05:55
The best

2011-02-13 09:35:07
Of great interest to me. Excellent, keep it up.

Rob

2011-01-13 03:08:46
reali helpfull

2011-01-12 01:59:33
very good info

2011-01-04 04:09:36
Frequent, accurate and timely updates - very reliable.

2010-12-20 01:11:20
Good weather info well done

2010-12-10 01:14:23
Great information and very consistent,

2010-12-05 02:26:59
Excellent service

2010-12-05 01:14:11
really good.

2010-12-02 02:15:57
Excellent service

2010-12-01 07:04:39
Excellent. Forecast are almost always right (95%)
I use this site when abroad to know what the Island is in for.
I use this site when at home every day.
In comparison with say the Met Office and XC weather I have no problem in relying on it.
Thank you for an excellent service

2010-11-29 01:55:47
Local information is great. Thank you.

2010-11-27 02:37:03
Excellent service & very accurate. I use it to plan my boating trips.

2010-11-26 01:04:13
love this service .. accurate, relevant, local and reliable... :)

2010-11-13 11:55:06
Absolutely essental weather site for the Isle of Wight. Our weather is often different from the mainland and always neglected by the mainland. We need this site, thank you. Mary

2010-11-12 15:33:19
Excellent service, they never let me down, friendly and on the ball. Well done Isle of Wight weather. Hope you are always able to send forecasts. Best regards, Mary Watson

2010-11-06 02:55:54
Excellent service letting me know when a storm is on the way with lots of interesting information. Great fun being able to watch the storm approach hours before it actually gets here. Absolutely first class.

2010-10-27 00:22:36
Absolutely excellent. The live data is amazing. I am intrigued by the wind monitors, especially the gusts. Very exciting stuff!

2010-10-08 08:54:53
Good information delivery
Clear forecasts
Helps dodge the striking bolts!

2010-09-08 01:02:32
Excellent service, all the information I need, would be lost without The Isle of Wight Weather Station Network. Thank you, M Watson.

2010-08-31 06:42:15
Comprehensive and accurate information and easy to understand for a layman. Brilliant service and have highly recommended to family and friends.

2010-08-26 04:39:23
excellent service provided

2010-08-24 00:08:28
Incredibly helpful - and accurate service!

2010-08-20 05:13:10
excellent station

2010-08-19 02:36:28
Great expanded service, I dont use the BBC any more!
Neil

2010-08-13 10:59:13
Very good site. Email alerts included. Page layout could be updated slightly.

2010-08-04 00:47:18
Brilliant service.

2010-07-22 11:25:55
Fantastic site always prompt with emails and loads of always up-to-date site

2010-07-21 00:12:37
Very good website

2010-07-12 14:30:36
I find it verry usefull and helpfull. So i will give the the site 5/5 :)

2010-07-10 00:47:46
excellent site and service

2010-07-09 06:24:43
brilliant and informative

2010-07-04 08:41:53
Top site, couldn't do without them. Approachable, curtious and essential to me as a gardener. Thank you Isle of Wight Weather for your continual service and a complete service.

2010-07-03 00:16:31
Exceptionally full service, most useful

2010-06-19 00:42:29
Excellent site,explained easily and thorough

2010-06-14 00:18:54
Very indept information.

2010-06-10 14:19:25
Excellent service

2010-06-10 10:08:29
An excellent service

2010-06-10 03:03:04
A good indepth review of the days weather
Derek Bean

2010-06-08 06:35:18
Very useful information and great email alerts

2010-06-08 05:31:23
really useful!

2010-06-06 19:15:11
Easy to read site, fast alerts sent to email. Fantastic site!

2010-06-02 01:33:29
Excellent, thorough and concise.

2010-05-25 10:49:55
excellent site with upto date information and great tracking info.

2010-05-24 01:03:02
absolutely the best site for weather on the south coast/isle of wight

2010-05-21 08:19:39
The best site for weather prediction on the island. Always 90% accurate.Live my life by it!

2010-05-16 00:32:00
My first choice for weather information. Comprehesive stats too.

2010-05-15 02:28:56
This is a brilliant site. I can click on the map and find out where the lightening storms are approaching.
It fascinating to see as well as being interesting.
being an amature photographer, I find the map and the weather reports to my email box are extremely useful in my, as I can see where I can go with my camera without being caught in heavy rain or storms.
Thanks for a great site and service.

2010-05-05 00:18:51
Friendly, no fuss service. Local to me and used daily.

2010-05-01 14:54:37
Very accurate and helpfull in my gardening management
DGp

2010-04-29 13:40:06
Very good live storm reporting system - a definate must for the weather enthusiast.

2010-04-25 23:57:34
this site is excellent, thunderstorms are tracked brilliantly, i have been getting updates for years long may it continue.

2010-04-19 00:55:09
very helpful and accurate

2010-04-10 02:13:25
Ecellent Service. Especially when there are high winds. The live stream is unbelievably accurate and its so exciting to watch the wind gust indicator

2010-04-08 11:50:57
Excellent Service, includes everything one needs to know and a great help to gardeners. I couldn't do without it.

2010-04-02 12:08:35
A great site (best in the UK), with mostly accurate data. Brilliant, regular emails, too.

2010-03-24 02:04:25
Absolutely brilliant service - never leave home without checking the day ahead. Thank you

2010-03-12 07:05:58
Very useful service

2010-03-10 12:32:46
Excellent, reliable and full service. Masses of information, easy to comprehend. Valuable source of information.

2010-02-14 07:51:40
regular, relvent and accurate observations

2010-02-05 10:00:20
Excellent information provider

2010-01-31 03:51:04
They are great, thank you

2010-01-16 03:05:27
The IOW Weather Station Network is a brilliant service, which we receive daily and totally rely on... And it's free. Fantastic!

2010-01-15 03:38:02
A very useful and accurate form of information.
Well pleased with it.
Daniel Perriton

2010-01-15 02:30:53
Is the best weather info ever I always try and get my friends to join because so far its never been wrong keep up the good work

2010-01-12 13:56:04
Excellent service I could not now do without. Always up to date and put in a way that is easy to understand. Well done!

2010-01-11 10:30:17
REALLY IMFORMATIVE AND USUALLY SPOT ON KEEP IT UP.

2010-01-09 05:00:41
Excellent service. Quite accurate forecasting and very interesting reading the data.

2010-01-09 03:35:46
A very well presented and reliable forecast and report
Congratulations

2010-01-07 12:12:41
excellent weather information for the island which does incur a wide variation across a small area. Will defiinitely stay subscribed


2010-01-07 02:57:40
excellant forcasting

2010-01-01 13:30:00
First Class. Ten out of Ten. 10/10

2009-12-29 01:20:25
great site keep up the good work

2009-12-18 01:46:36
I find this a very useful service and the emailed weather reports and alerts are very much appreciated.

2009-12-12 02:35:52
Very reliable website with regular weather emails which have proved over the time I have used it to be notable for their accuracy.

2009-12-05 01:36:37
Great site. Adopted into WX brief before flying.

2009-11-30 17:05:10
Excellent site, full of detailed information, graphic displays first rate.

2009-11-29 14:32:10
excellent service, really on the ball with updates, and dare I say lightning fast to warn you of storms, they have my vote everytime. Thank you IOW weather station network.

2009-11-26 16:39:02
it just thundered and lighteninged on hayling island and there nothing on your radar!!!!!!! hellooo i joined cos i have a phobia !!!!!!! ppffttt sort it out !!!!

2009-11-16 01:49:07
They warn me of great thunder alerts and are always true

2009-11-15 06:21:58
Absolutely brill. Love it!

2009-11-15 06:18:36
excellent site for really detailed local weather forecasts and warnings

2009-11-15 01:17:38
incorect wind speed and incorect lightning strike

2009-11-07 02:18:37
It is an extremely good indicator of weather to come

2009-11-03 05:00:00
Fantastic provided, information shown has been extremely useful

2009-10-30 06:03:46
exellent

2009-10-29 04:40:35
Excelent information


2009-10-17 11:03:43
Everything anyone would need to know. A full, easy to follow forecast I wouldn't be without.

2009-10-10 07:13:32
Excelent
Service


2009-10-03 07:50:23
Excellent site, well covered and very informative. One of

2009-09-23 01:22:37
an exclellent and useful service.

2009-09-21 08:43:31
Lightening ring

2009-09-20 05:07:42
This Information is useful and accurate. I recommend it too anyone with an interest in weather or needs it in planning events or travel.

2009-09-16 02:29:36
Excellent and efficient site

2009-09-16 00:07:33
Great Site

2009-09-06 04:28:29
very good reports exellent

2009-09-01 07:59:45
brilliant

2009-08-26 09:03:36
Brilliant service, thoroughly enjoy reading all the data.

2009-08-24 12:09:56
Top class, thx guy's, has helped me so much with my business, long story but I have an Equestrian/ aggri business and your site and e-mail alerts to my phone has given me precious minutes! Thx again! Stu

2009-08-21 08:33:42
As regular as clockwork; comprehensive and very informative / useful.

2009-08-13 00:36:07
fantastic

2009-08-13 00:10:42
tide time table would be usefull

2009-08-07 00:13:46
informative

2009-08-06 00:54:51
This website is great and I look it at everyday - more when thunder is forecast. It fascinates me!

2009-08-04 00:29:30
accurate and helpful

2009-07-28 00:28:55
I use this for flying a great service all round for actual weather as against forcast from the Air Met web site

Thanks for a great service.

Sandown Microlights

2009-07-25 01:01:28
had a great boating holiday on IOW planned with the ais of your weather station reports
Many thanks
Albert

2009-07-25 00:29:58
Does what it says on the tin, recommended

2009-07-16 21:33:36
very good free service long may it continue.

2009-07-16 17:58:25
great

2009-07-16 08:41:08
A very well presented site withgood forcasts. Thank you.

2009-07-16 02:40:21
a great site.

2009-07-16 00:43:11
brillient site very informative.

2009-07-07 07:00:37
Fantastic site for experts and novices alike

2009-07-06 02:03:11
Excellent detail and First class layout,legible and comprehensive.Trends also useful,not often given so clearly.Plain language too.

2009-07-04 00:48:18
Excellent service. Very reliable

2009-07-03 01:39:45
Excellent easy to understand & use.

2009-07-03 01:29:33
Very informative

2009-07-02 12:57:07
Spot on service HIGHLY RECOMMENDED by Ex Master Mariner Merchant Navy

2009-07-02 00:26:24
Excellent site and very useful

2009-07-01 14:53:35
superb quality site which i use on a daily basis for my work (mostly at very high level ) Always on and with no "down" times at all,keep up the good work.

2009-06-29 00:46:36
Brilliant site, love it!!

2009-06-27 10:50:11
Great site, helps us to predict when the dog is going to need more support as he is terrified of thunderstorms

2009-06-26 02:07:25
cool site

2009-06-26 00:10:31
Good accurate forecasts. A move away from plain text would be good.

2009-06-25 14:19:49
Excellent Lightning chart! Great site!

2009-06-25 09:40:45
Very useful!

2009-06-22 02:21:20
Best forecast for the island around - easy to follow & very accurate.

2009-06-12 01:03:58
Excellent site, all you need to know and more about Isle of Wight weather.

2009-06-06 07:51:23
a very handy site for thunder storm warning as I live in southampton.

2009-06-04 00:25:00
Brilliant Weather site.

Thanks

Chris - Horsham Sussex

2009-06-03 00:16:48
This is an excellent, reliable and extremely thorough service.

2009-05-25 12:12:53
Excellent information.

2009-05-25 12:01:03
Brilliant site, always my first choice for tracking storms.

2009-05-25 11:48:30
Great service - been following it for years.

2009-05-25 11:41:42
the best

2009-05-25 10:07:35
Great service

2009-05-25 08:44:53
Very good service

2009-05-25 04:32:13
its a good site i use it alot. very good keep up the good work.comes in handy as i am a ham radio operator and find it usefull

2009-05-25 00:33:50
excellent!would recommend

2009-05-16 07:54:57
very helpful and a great resorce

2009-05-13 14:45:16
So good I Can't fault it

Triffick

Tom iow

2009-05-11 09:54:54
i love stom your the best one i seen

2009-05-11 02:14:38
Accurate,reliable data.Much needed service!

2009-05-10 11:39:46
Won derful site for the amateur weather fan. Sonsistent service.

2009-05-09 00:57:17
great daily weather reports, good site

2009-04-29 02:25:42
Very good.

2009-04-21 00:06:57
This is a stupendous site for anyone who is interested in weather and its patterns. I always enjoy visiting the site and the service temail daily infomation works beautifully. Sarah T M Bell dandsbell@aol.com

2009-04-19 02:52:06
Been using the Isleofwightweather site for a few years now. It just gets better and better.

2009-04-18 04:55:09
Awesome free helpful service!

2009-04-17 03:03:04
Excellent Site, sometimes gets it wrong, but hey! when is the TV ever right?!

2009-04-16 02:56:59
Just started using service, very helpful if thunder is in the forecast and you are planning anything from a day out to putting the washing out to dry!

2009-04-15 00:24:27
Needs redesigning, try chichesterdesign.co.uk

2009-04-14 14:29:23
GREAT website

2009-04-14 07:37:06
It always warns us and we always get it!

2009-04-14 07:36:53
really easy to use and up to date

2009-04-13 01:48:52
Very useful for local Isle of Wight weather.

2009-04-13 00:03:36
being a biker that travels daily all day around the island it is essential i know the weather, this service is second to none, with the information that it provides ...

2009-04-12 12:01:23
Good facts about coming weather, easy for a novice to understand.

2009-04-10 02:14:47
Couldnt understand what was needed in this review
The IofW site is great 5 star

2009-04-08 00:20:09
Great, I have a second home on the island. And read this report daily

2009-03-31 00:52:25
EXcellent prompt service with good extra weather warnings for a gardener like me.

2009-03-26 03:31:09
Keeps me up to date with daily forcast, very accurate and informative.
Mtd stuff keeps me warm.

2009-03-26 02:01:48
excellent daily update much appreciated.

2009-02-18 03:08:04
Best weather site for the I.O.W. Keep up the good work

2009-02-11 06:18:11
instant up to date info that continues to prove to be very accurate. Clear and easy to understand display page.

2009-02-11 01:50:30
Reliable and accurate

2009-01-19 06:12:39
Very good site and very accurate i look forward to recieveng storm up dates and if close to me like to track them as they come over.

2009-01-18 10:39:50
Fast and informative free service that alerts me immediately - with few errors.
The email alerts (also for wind speed, temperature, pressure drops, etc.) along with the weather forecasts and statistics are brilliant.

2009-01-18 05:02:15
Excellent service...

2009-01-11 06:12:49
reliable and accurate

2008-12-27 03:14:12
Many thanks for this great Service.

2008-12-25 05:02:24
Exellent informative site with a personal touch

2008-12-23 01:05:19
excellent every day every way

2008-12-20 10:00:06
Well laid out and informative site

2008-12-19 15:13:02
a very good and useful service of particular relevance on an island such as we are.

2008-12-13 04:41:55
Excellent site and content. Interesting and very useful.

2008-12-11 03:41:30
Excellent additional service

2008-12-07 16:53:43
Regular and accurate information supplied by email.
Good website easy to navigate with relevant information and webcams.

2008-12-02 04:20:15
Excellent regular service - not always accurate (what is metereology famous for?) but has saved us a few probs esp on 06.04.08.

2008-11-30 15:21:54
Saved our computer more than once.

2008-11-16 02:17:13
This is a truly wonderful service

2008-11-11 06:42:16
Excellent weather site, many good pages and services, one of my top 20 all time sites and 1st for weather service

2008-11-11 03:43:24
very good

2008-11-09 10:58:50
very useful

2008-11-05 04:58:06
First class

2008-11-02 04:41:59
in my opinion the site produces good forcasts of both lightning and general weather warnings which are very useful to a farmer like myself and to other people in general thank you

2008-11-01 09:54:08
Briliant one off the best.

2008-10-31 01:49:39
great,top site!

2008-10-27 01:26:44
1st Class. So much information. Very educational. I recomend you to all my friends.

2008-10-23 12:14:58
Extremely good weather site and I shall use it regularly.

Thank you

2008-10-21 01:18:51
Great follow up support!

2008-10-20 01:34:19
Excellent site. Very useful.

2008-10-02 03:18:36
Excellent site, the trackers & email alerts are very usefull. I just wish it was situated more central in the country

2008-10-02 03:13:22
Quite an acurate picture of the current weather with plenty of information.
Extremely good site.


2008-09-22 10:41:31
A very useful service. Some of the graphics could be improved by allowing a greater zoom to a local level. Otherwise keep up the excellent work

2008-09-22 04:10:35
great weather site, very accurate local weather reports and forecast.

2008-09-12 10:31:04
I read them everyday and find them most accurate

2008-09-08 08:27:18
Excellent site, very informative. 10 out of 10 for content, weather warnings. I look forward to the emails arriving in my inbox

2008-09-07 03:49:12
IOW weather is a really informative and useful educational tool - particularly their weekly summary for long term tracking exercises with students.

2008-09-07 02:17:36
excellent report

2008-09-06 01:27:44
verry good and clear info

2008-09-03 03:13:03
Very detailed reports, regularly updated. Online veiw of weather stations and webcams.. Excellent resource, which helps me plan my sailing passagesaround the solent.

2008-08-31 03:28:18
great site , most informative

2008-08-31 03:06:24
ive always kept up with thunderstorms this has been the best thing ive used in ages lets you see where they are and wat strenth they are perfect site

2008-08-24 15:57:25
Excellent and very accurate.

2008-08-23 17:00:07
Always very informative

2008-08-23 06:17:46
Keeps me up to date with weather reports and weather warnings.

It's an excellent service.

2008-08-22 06:31:28
fascinating and querky information.

2008-08-22 03:46:15
great and useful site

2008-08-21 03:24:04
Excellent and accurate given the vagaies of the Island's own microclimate

2008-08-15 15:57:57
Best one for where I live (South West of England)

2008-08-13 00:14:35
Top site and lighting information always up to date.

Trevor (Portsmouth)

2008-08-12 14:50:13
So useful to have the realtime updates

2008-08-12 12:20:49
Just wonderful info.

2008-08-12 11:48:08
Excellent service email alerts are very useful

2008-08-12 11:02:06
superb service

thank you

2008-08-07 02:11:00
exactly what i need very informative and clear

2008-08-06 22:26:17
Brilliant site.

2008-08-02 23:46:58
always accurate and always there when you need it

2008-08-01 08:42:06
a very good service with accurate trend forecasting.

2008-07-31 05:36:42
They are brilliant they always have uptodate info on there systems!

2008-07-31 04:15:05
Fantastic email notification service. Very useful, as well as being interesting.

2008-07-31 00:43:04
Very good information

2008-07-31 00:16:45
excellent site

2008-07-30 03:24:08
Great site, keeps me well informed on weather conditions in the Solent area.

2008-07-30 01:37:24
Excellent, very professionally presented.

2008-07-30 01:06:39
I am very new to this site (joined yesterday), but the information is exceptionally detailed. Thank you.
Teresa. Isle of Wight. UK

2008-07-30 00:29:40
First class information very well compiled very easy to read,good luck keep up thevery hard work.
g10cldave@ntlworld.com

2008-07-29 09:22:04
exelent service overall.

2008-07-29 01:22:41
Fantastic lots of information and like the e-mail set up

2008-07-29 01:05:34
Does what it says on the tin, and even though I'm no fan of thunder and lightning, I could not do without it, as it allows you to prepare for it.

MH, Sutton, Surrey

2008-07-28 15:33:46
very nice reports (particularly when the weather is nice :)) - lots of information for general use

2008-07-28 09:48:45
very very useful!

2008-07-28 01:07:15
excellent

2008-07-27 13:04:58
I use it everyday!

2008-07-25 08:02:24
great job guys keep it up

2008-07-24 23:08:06
I FIND THIS SITE ONE OF THE MOST INTERESTING AND INFORMATIVE SITES I HAVE ON MY FAVOURITES....

2008-07-23 08:15:49
this is a cool site

2008-07-23 02:23:57
Excellent site,first class forcasting.Well impressed.

2008-07-21 00:39:34
Excellent service and very reliable. Thank you. Doug

2008-07-11 06:38:24
excellent site very informative and very usefull. as i work outside i rely on it and have not been dissapointed yet

2008-07-08 13:35:36
excellent site,so much info.thanks

2008-07-08 08:45:18
excellent service accurate forecasts

2008-07-07 12:48:25
love it

2008-07-06 08:15:14
very good

2008-07-06 02:51:32
Excellent service provides accurate local information

2008-07-04 06:38:06
Love the lightning and storm information - tends to be really accurate and interesting too.

2008-07-03 11:22:56
Always the best to use

2008-07-03 07:54:39
excellent service, well done

2008-07-03 06:50:13
a good overall site with plenty of information available

2008-07-02 14:18:14
Very interesting site, I spend a lot of time on it and have learned quite a lot.

2008-07-02 04:25:38
Whilst the websites monitoring equipment is fairly local it suffers from significant echo signals, false signals, and has repeatedly missed storms 25 miles from it! If they could improve accuracy would be greatly improved.

2008-07-02 01:25:03
Excellent site with accurate data

2008-07-02 01:20:58
great service

2008-07-01 15:48:11
An excellent site - the most up to date and informative one I have found .

2008-07-01 00:23:14
The most informative and well set up site for weather I have found.

2008-06-26 13:01:23
Excellent service. Very handy for my early morning bird watching walks

2008-06-25 00:48:59
IOW site is reliable and accurate. I look forward to its early morning call so that I can plan my day ahead.

2008-06-21 20:07:17
Reasonable accurate

2008-06-21 11:39:48
Interesting to follow storms when they are close.

2008-06-21 01:47:03
excellent information

2008-06-21 00:44:40
An excellent and professional organization

2008-06-20 00:24:25
Very useful. Especially like summary of month's data.

Improvements? Probably not practical but it would be nice to have localised readings as well - eg. Cowes, Ventnor etc. as conditions can vary within a mile or two!

2008-06-17 02:55:30
Excellent site and service !

2008-06-17 02:32:19
very useful

2008-06-14 12:27:40
Superb extremely useful many thanks

2008-06-13 05:44:40
excellent

2008-06-12 01:16:07
great site plenty of information very reliable


2008-06-09 03:05:10
Simple and easy to follow. Lets me know what I need to.

2008-06-08 09:00:58
great service with clear and well written reports

2008-06-06 08:00:41
Nice site and good information.
Bob

2008-06-05 03:58:34
excellent

2008-06-03 13:12:08
Great site
My wife is epileptic and is effected by thunder storms we thank you for the early warnings you send us, it gives us time for her to get settled.
Thanks again it really is a terrific site.
Ken Wheeler

2008-06-03 08:51:03
Brilliant site, well done to all concerned.

2008-06-03 00:04:39
valuable local view - couldn't do without it

2008-06-02 23:59:24
its a very good service

2008-06-02 09:53:45
Essential and accuarate. Great asset in teaching!

2008-06-02 08:00:34
GREAT SITE
WATCH EVERYDAY FROM EAST MIDLANDS.
WOULD RECOMMEND IF INTERESTED IN STORMS

2008-06-02 00:21:51
great site

2008-05-29 10:28:41
Fantastic site, very informative and professional

2008-05-29 06:32:27
Excellent service!

2008-05-28 14:20:10
great real time reports thanks guys :}}}}

2008-05-28 07:46:24
Excellent service.

2008-05-28 01:29:34
Excellent site.

2008-05-28 00:35:56
Spot on site, auto alert service much appreciaterd, data is succinct and timely. most useful

2008-05-27 00:52:20
Great site - keep going.

2008-05-23 07:44:14
a great service reliable and accurate

2008-05-18 15:04:52
Brilliant

2008-05-16 00:32:45
Excellent service provided. Serves me well from Gloucestershire UK

2008-05-15 09:53:07
Brilliant site!

2008-05-14 15:59:00
excellent site with more information than you could ever want or need!

2008-05-09 11:56:11
Great site, easy to understand

2008-05-09 09:06:23
very useful, would be even better if a forward projection of track was available

2008-05-08 15:08:19
An all round excellent site with many great features. As an IOW resident i find this site truly useful as i am a keen storm and severe weather fanatic. Allows me to closly monitor current conditions and where best to be to get some good pictures...Top marks from me...:o)

2008-05-04 15:56:16
Absolutely amazing! Alerts by email, intensity rating and how often a strike is conducted! The creme de la creme of storm trackers :)

2008-05-04 13:11:10
Very good site, with lots of storm details and information.

2008-05-04 03:35:17
A Splendid Early Warning service and an easy'site to navigate

2008-05-04 00:44:23
exellent, most accurate internet weather for the island. lightning detector supurb. Shaun puts alot of effort into this!!!
if Shaun reads this i am th eguy who drove into the back of your transit van 8 yrs ago! Sorry

Rate and Review This Site
Show All Reviews

Stats

Daily Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 269.3 1,070.9 0.0 0.0 1.2 1.8
Today 276 1,144 0 0 4 6
Yesterday 209 1,192 0 0 1 1
October 17 232 1,080 0 0 0 0
October 16 815 2,824 0 0 1 1
October 15 280 892 0 0 2 4
October 14 193 570 0 0 0 0
October 13 174 853 0 0 0 0
October 12 166 630 0 0 3 5
October 11 202 757 0 0 1 1
October 10 146 767 0 0 0 0
Highest 23,409 84,260 92 128 31 35
Weekly Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 1,935.0 6,647.8 0.0 0.0 10.9 16.2
This Week 1,532 6,240 0 0 6 8
Last Week 1,331 5,076 0 0 8 14
Week 40 1,149 5,069 0 0 10 14
Week 39 1,340 4,905 0 0 9 13
Week 38 1,538 4,923 0 0 9 14
Week 37 2,671 8,633 0 0 8 14
Week 36 2,571 8,869 0 0 14 19
Week 35 2,426 7,958 0 0 15 21
Week 34 2,114 6,804 0 0 14 20
Week 33 2,678 8,001 0 0 16 25
Highest 73,405 278,403 233 262 87 176
Monthly Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 12,970.7 52,209.4 0.5 0.5 48.8 77.8
This Month 4,212 17,562 0 0 25 37
Last Month 8,815 28,209 0 0 44 66
August 17 12,072 40,862 0 0 70 102
July 17 28,124 100,009 2 2 85 119
June 17 20,145 89,714 2 2 68 100
May 17 20,783 71,363 1 1 63 98
April 17 7,455 29,897 0 0 40 82
March 17 8,464 34,772 0 0 33 64
February 17 8,854 42,163 0 0 24 43
January 17 10,783 67,543 0 0 36 67
Highest 125,831 484,515 373 666 328 662
Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Overall 4,429,573 14,395,914 6,925 9,084 5,011 7,851

Worldwide/Regional Lightning Detector Map (Has Moved)

  • Because it was taking so long for the map to load (even with high speed internet connections), the Map has moved to a separate page.
  • Please click on this Link , or the static Map image below to display the LightningRing interactive Map page
Click on map to display active LightningRing Map

Local Lightning Photos

  • July 20th, 2008 taken looking west from the Mule Mountain foothills of the Huachuca Mountains with a portion of Sierra Vista AZ in the foreground. Credits to John Forrey, posted with permission.
  • August 4th, 2008 taken south of Bisbee facing South into Naco, Sonora. The row of lights are the International Border. Credits to John Forrey, posted with permission.
  • August 5th, 2008 taken on double adobe road, east side of the Mules, looking towards Double Adobe. Look close, you can see a century plant in the foreground! . Credits to John Forrey, posted with permission.
  • August 8th, 2008 taken over the Huachuca Mountains, from Carr Canyon Waterfall, looking towards the west. Credits to Del Gordon, posted with permission.


29 Jul 08
This site is © Copyright Paul L Herrman 2004-2010, All Rights Reserved.